top of page

Leicester Comedy Festival announces this year's competition finalists

UK Pun Championships and more!

Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year Finalists 2023
Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year Finalists 2023

Leicester Comedy Festival has announced its Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year finalists, Circuit Breakers, and more.

Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year is back for the 30th edition in 2024 will bring eight comedians, nominated by industry professionals to Leicester on February 24, 2024.

It will take place at its spiritual home, The Y Theatre. It will be hosted by Sindhu Vee. Past winners have included Josh Widdicombe, Johnny Vegas and Romesh Ranganathan.

Festivals and Programme Director Charlotte Laidet said: "Supporting emerging talents and celebrating comedy in all its forms are the core missions of our festival and Big Difference as a charity.

"We are so proud to run these events, and the record breaking number of applications shows the high demand for these type of competitions in the comedy industry. We wish all finalists good luck and are looking forward to the shows in February!"

Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year

The finalists for the Leicester Mercury Comedian of the Year 2024 are:

  • Alasdair Wallace

  • Alex Bertulis-Fernandes

  • Blank Peng

  • Eva Bindeman

  • Fiona Ridgewell

  • Henry Michael

  • Julia Stenton

  • Romina Puma


UK Pun Championships

UK Pun Day has become a significant date on the comedy calendar with punsters flocking to Leicester to show off their best one liners.

Contestants battle it out in the ring until the winner is crowned The UK Pun Champion! The show is hosted by Jason Byrne and takes places on Punday February 12, 2024 at De Montfort Hall.

The UK Pun Championships contestants 2023
The UK Pun Championships contestants 2023

Battling it out this year are:

  • Adam Dorr

  • Bennet Kavanagh

  • Daniel Edison

  • Kat Dellar

  • Kev Mud

  • Mary Cross

  • Pauline Eyre

  • Rabiah Coon


Circuit Breakers is one of Leicester Comedy Festival’s flagship projects and supports new comedians who are breaking on to the scene.

It brings them to the festival for two mixed bill shows, a photo shoot with legendary photographer Andy Hollingworth and networking opportunities provided in partnership with Equity.

Circuit Breakers

Circuit Breakers will be hosted by Eshaan Akbar and will take place at PETER Pizzeria on February 16-17, 2024.

Circuit Breakers 2023
Circuit Breakers 2023

The Circuit Breakers for 2024 are:

  • Aisha Amanduri

  • Holly Ludlow

  • Ryan Kenny

  • Tasmin Sarkany

  • Tegan Verheul

  • Vinny Shiu


Silver Stand-up

The Silver Stand-up is a unique competition that showcases comedians over the age of 55. It is hosted by Mrs Barbara Nice as seen on Britain’s Got Talent on Tuesday, February 20, 2024 at PETER Pizzeria.

Silver Stand-up contestants from 2023
Silver Stand-up contestants from 2023

The contestants for 2024 are:

  • Gary Edwards

  • Georgia Apsion

  • Gerry Carroll

  • Jurgen Strack

  • Kevin Daniel

  • Mark Ahier

  • Roland Ghent

  • Tracey Rhodes aka Our Trace


Next year’s dates for Leicester Comedy Festival and the UK Kids Comedy Festival are February 7-25, 2024. Tickets for all of the shows are available to purchase on the festival website


bottom of page