top of page

Semi-finalists announced for Niche Business Awards 2022

This year, it's Back to the Future!

Ninety local businesses and individuals were announced as semi-finalists of the Niche Business Awards 2022 at a networking event last night.

The business community gathered at the Leicestershire County Cricket Ground in Grace Road with more than a hundred guests along with sponsors and ambassadors.

The public has been nominating across 15 categories. Almost 400 nominations were received, and eight independent judges have taken the time to whittle them down since April.

The event is organised by parent company Cross Productions and runs in association with bi-monthly local publication Niche Magazine.

Jenny Cross, CEO of Cross Productions, said: “Exceptional results come from exceptional efforts. We love to be able to recognise great businesses and individuals each year but it’s been particularly great to see how many have evolved over the course of the coronavirus pandemic.”

The Niche Business Awards 2022, known for its quirky themes, is celebrating with a Back to the Future theme.

A clever animated slideshow featuring the famous characters from the movie driving a DeLorean presented the semi-finalists.

Leicester Castle Business School is the headline sponsor. Going ‘beyond business as usual’, the higher education provider is a key player in developing talent in the city and county.

Three finalists in each category will be announced on July 4, 2022 and can be purchased on Eventbrite.

The ceremony will be held on Friday, September 2, 2022 at Athena in the Cultural Quarter.

Tickets to the ceremony can be purchased for £85 + VAT each, or £800 + VAT for a table of 10 by emailing

Our official semi-finalists:

Best New Business

Sponsored by Hollingsworths

Fraser Stretton Property Group

The Gresham Aparthotel


Tor + Edge Climbing

Laura Lane Makeup

Family Business

Sponsored by Kazzoo IT

Three Point Design

Shonki Brothers

Rutland Cycling

Anokhi House of Sarees

Jordan Motors

AJ Bryan Construction

Business Growth

Sponsored by Torr Waterfield

VIP Bottles

Fraser Stretton Property Group

Food Attraction

Urban Apothecary London

Ignite Dating

Orange Fox Studios

Best Small Business

Sponsored by Ninja HR

Clarke & Roskrow Styling Opticians

Ben’s Kitchen

Little City Leicester

EMA Training

Three Point Design

Intrusted Pension Services

Digital Business of the Year

Sponsored by Take Me




Shrinker Digital

Pencil and Coffee

Cymer Marketing Solutions

Community Impact

Sponsored by Leicester Children’s Holidays

Leicester Community Benefit Society

She Inspires Global

Leicester Drama Society

Kazzoo IT

Hope Against Cancer


Rising Star

Sponsored by PPL PRS

Sophie Redman - Linford Grey

Scarlett Tinsley - ER Recruitment

Sabrina Sudera - Design Studio Architects

Pete Talbot - Next Level Rugby

Vikesh Mistry - DMU Works

Laura Lane - Laura Lane Makeup

Employer of the Year

Sponsored by Growth Partners

Michael Smith Switchgear

Mason Food Service

The Superbia Group

Fraser Stretton Property Group

Everards Meadows

Paragon Sales Solutions

Best Customer Service

Sponsored by Fraser Stretton Property Group

Clarke & Roskrow Styling Opticians

Three Point Design

Design Studio Architects

Paragon Sales Solutions

The Stoneygate Eye Hospital

Kazzoo IT

Leicestershire Charity of the Year

Sponsored by MR H IT

20-20 Voice Cancer

Wishes 4 Kids



Zinthiya Trust


Entrepreneur of the Year

Sponsored by Breedon Consulting

Narinder Nijjar - Fraser Stretton Property Group

Gabby Miller - Cool As Leicester

Estelle Keeber - Immortal Monkey

Lee Wheeler-Tomes - Orange Fox Studios

Luke Tobin - Digital Ethos

Sophie Hainsworth – LoyalFree

Eco Excellence

Sponsored by Beau Aesthetica

Three Point Design

Soar Valley Press

Michael Smith Switchgear

Design Studio Architects



Professional Services

Sponsored by Jerroms Miller

Design Studio Architects

Furnley House


Kazzoo IT

ISJ Independent Financial Planning

Shonki Brothers

Business Man of the Year

Sponsored by BP Legal

Gurdev Mattu - Fashion UK

AD Trophy Lee Wheeler-Tomes - Orange Fox Studios

Greg Hollingsworth - Hollingsworths

Rik Pancholi - Pattersons Commercial Law

Atul Lakhani - Sanjay Foods

Kal Sangra - Shonki Brothers

Business Woman of the Year

Sponsored by Tilton Conway

Sadie Pollard - Charles Bentley

Eileen Perry - ER Recruitment

Sophie Hainsworth - LoyalFree

Emily Smith - Michael Smith Switchgear

Jo Sutton - Empire Finance

Helen Parker - DeVOL Kitchens


bottom of page